Skip to main content

Cristina Rivera Garza

Writer, translator and critic

Cristina Rivera Garza, born in Matamoros, Mexico, in 1964, is one of the foremost voices in contemporary Mexican literature. Novelist, poet, short story writer and essayist, she is the only writer to have twice received the Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz International Prize, for Nadie me verá llorar (translated into English by Andrew Hurley as No One Will See Me Cry) in 2011 and La muerte me da in 2009. She is M. D. Anderson Distinguished Professor and founder of the doctorate in Creative Spanish Writing at the University of Houston, Texas.

Her most recent books are Autobiografía del algodón (Literatura Random House, 2020), El invencible verano de Liliana (PRH, 2021) and Grieving. Dispatches from a Wounded Country (The Feminist Press, 2020, translated by Sarah Booker, shortlisted in the 2021 NBCC Award). New and Selected Stories, translated by Sarah Booker et al., was published in 2022 by Dorothy, a publishing project. Recent awards include the 2018 Shirley Jackson Award, Premio Iberoamericano Donoso 2021, Premio Nuevo León Alfonso Reyes 2021, Premio Mazatlan 2021 and the 2021 Villaurrutia Writers’ Prize for Writers. In 2020 she was named a MacArthur Fellow.

Update: 7 July 2022



Has participated in

A morning with Cristina Rivera Garza

Intimate Violences

Cristina Rivera Garza, Lina Meruane and Gabriela Wiener

Braiding: Saints, Weird, Mestizas

Cristina Rivera Garza and Camille de Toledo

The Sebaldian Legacy in The 21st Century

Cristina Rivera Garza

Workshop in Documentary Writing and Disappropriation