Skip to main content

Kim Stanley Robinson

Considered one of the most prestigious science fiction authors worldwide, he is one of the main exponents of climate fiction.

Kim Stanley Robinson is an American science fiction writer.  He is the author of more than twenty books, including the international bestselling Mars trilogy, New York 2140, Aurora, Shaman, Green Earth, and 2312, which was a New York Times bestseller nominated for all seven of the major science fiction awards—a first for any book. He recently published The Ministry for the Future (Orbit, 2020), in which he reflects about the future challenges faced by the planet.

He was sent to the Antarctic by the U.S. National Science Foundation’s Antarctic artists program in 1995, and returned in their Antarctic journalists program in 2016.  In 2008 he was named a “Hero of the Environment” by Time magazine, and he works with the Sierra Nevada Research Institute, the Clarion Writers’ Workshop, and UC San Diego’s Arthur C. Clarke Center for Human Imagination.

His work has been translated into 25 languages, and won a dozen awards in five countries, including the Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and World Fantasy Award. In 2016 he was given the Heinlein Award for lifetime achievement in science fiction, and asteroid 72432 was named “Kimrobinson.”

Update: 3 February 2021



Has participated in


Kim Stanley Robinson

Artists Talk

A journey beyond the end of the world

Kosmopolis 2017

9th Amplified Literature Fest

After the End of the World