Skip to main content

Siri Hustvedt

A widely acclaimed author of novels, essays, and poetry, she has a PhD in English Literature from Columbia University and is a lecturer in Psychiatry in the Department of Psychiatry, Weill Medical College of Cornell University, New York. She is the author of the novels What I Loved (in Catalan, Allò que vaig estimar, Edicions 62, 2008, and also published in Spanish, Circe 2003), The Sorrows of an American (in Catalan, Elegia per un americà, Empúries, 2009 and, in Spanish, Anagrama 2013), The Summer without Men (in Catalan, L’estiu sense homes, Empúries, 2011 and, in Spanish, Anagrama, 2013), The Blazing World (in Catalan, El món resplendent, Anagrama, 2014 and, in Spanish, Anagrama, 2014), and Memories of the Future (in Catalan, Records del futur, Edicions 62, 2019 and, in Spanish, Seix Barral, 2019). She has also published the essays, A Plea for Eros (in Spanish, Una súplica para Eros, Circe, 2006), Living, Thinking, Looking (in Spanish, Vivir, pensar, mirar, Anagrama, 2013), and A Woman Looking at Men Looking at Women (in Catalan, La dona que mira els homes que miren les dones, LaButxaca, 2017 and, in Spanish, Seix Barral, 2017), and the anthology of poems Reading To You (1982, Station Hill Press). In both her academic and literary work, Hustvedt has explored questions about the nature of identity, individuality, and human perception. In 2012, she was awarded the Gabarrón International Award for Thought and Humanities and, in 2019, the Princess of Asturias Award for Letters. She has also been awarded an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Oslo. At present, she teaches and writes on a regular basis for the New York Times and Psychology Today.

Update: 23 July 2019


Has participated in

Conversation with Siri Hustvedt