Skip to main content

Olga Tokarczuk

Writer and psychologist, she won the 2018 Nobel Prize for Literature.

The work of writer Olga Tokarczuk, Nobel Prize for Literature in 2018, is notable for its imaginative storytelling combining autobiographical elements with fragments akin to the historical novel, and philosophical reflection. Translated into more than thirty languages, her work consists of ten novels, three collections of short stories, and a collection of poems. Notable among them are Un lloc anomenat Antany (Primeval and Other Times, Proa, 2001 and Anagrama, 2020), Los libros de Jacob (The Books of Jacob, Anagrama, 2023), the latter being the winner of the 2015 Nike Award which is Poland’s most prestigious literary prize; and Flights (in Catalan, Cos – Rata, 2019 and in Spanish Los errantes), Man Booker Prize 2018. Beyond her work as a writer, she also received the International Bridge Prize 2018 in recognition of her commitment to peace, democracy, and interculturalism and, in 2020, she established the Olga Tokarczuk Foundation with the aims of promoting Polish culture inside and beyond the borders of Poland, fostering democracy and interculturality, and defending human rights. Her most recent novel Empuzjon (Wydawnictwo Literackie, 2022) once again roams through the shared history of the Old Continent.

Update: 14 June 2023

Has participated in

Conversation with Olga Tokarczuk