Skip to main content

Joan Magrané

A composer with an international profile. He studied at the ESMUC, the Kunst Universität Graz and the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse in Paris; he has also been a resident composer at the Villa Medici in Rome, a member of Casa Velázquez in Madrid, a guest composer at the Palau de la Música Catalana and he is currently a guest composer at the Auditori de Barcelona. He has composed pieces for orchestras, solo instruments and chamber groups, and his works include Interieur (2021), Dànae recorda (2020), Diàlegs de Tirant e Carmesina (2019), disPLACE (2015) and Epíleg (Dido & Ænas reloaded, V) (2014). Some of the musicians and artists who have influenced his creative process range from Monteverdi and Desprez to Ausiàs March, José Ángel Valente and Jaume Plensa, as well as other sources of inspiration from poetry, art, and mysticism. He has been awarded international prizes such as the XXXI Queen Sofía Prize for Musical Composition (2014), third place in the Franz Josef Reinl Stiftung competition (2012) and the Premio dal Ministro della Gioventù, Udine (2012). His pieces have been performed by Ensemble Intercontemporain, Quatuor Diotima, the London Sinfonietta, the OBC – Barcelona Symphony Orchestra, and the RTVE Symphony Orchestra. Magrané also writes music criticism for media outlets such as El Nacional, El temps de les arts, Revista Musical Catalana, and Tarragonadigital.

Update: 2 December 2021


Has participated in

Learning to Learn

Enlightened seminars with Marina Garcés