Skip to main content

Jonathan Coe

Jonathan Coe is an English novelist born in 1961 in Lickey, a Birmingham suburb. Coe’s work is characterized by political commitment, always channelled comically through melancholic satire. His most ambitious novel, What a Carve Up (1994), was an international success, followed by titles such as The Rotters’ Club (2002), The Rain Before It Falls (2009) and The Terrible Privacy of Maxwell Sim (2011), all published in Spanish by Anagrama. Expo 58 (Viking, 2013), his latest novel, is about devious spies, pretty hostesses and confused civil servants during the Cold War.

Jonathan Coe's website

Update: 3 April 2014


Has participated in

Primera Persona 2014

Autobiographic live sessions: pop music concerts, stand-up comedy, theatre and narrative