Skip to main content

John Irving


John Irving was born in Exeter (New Hampshire, United States) in 1942. He is one of the most significant American writers today and is the author of a very extensive body of work. Highlights among his novels include The World According to Garp, The Cider House Rules, The Water-Method Man, The Hotel New Hampshire, A Son of the Circus, The Fourth Hand, Until I Find You, and A Widow for One Year.

Irving has received numerous awards, such as an Oscar for the Best Adapted Screenpay for The Cider House Rules, the O’Henry Award and the National Book Award. He has also received accolades from the Rockefeller Foundation, the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts. 

Update: 2 March 2016


Has participated in

The World According to Irving

Dialogue between John Irving and Enric González