Skip to main content


Concert-Screening "The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka"

A film by The Quay Brothers with pianist Mikhaïl Rudy


This is a project produced as a commission by the French pianist of Russian origin Mikhaïl Rudy together with the Cité de la musique of Paris. The film is screened with a live piano accompaniment by Rudy, who plays the music of Czech composer Leos Janácek. Shot in digital video, The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka (2012) is an avant-garde combination of stop-motion animation, puppets, and actors.

Mikhaïl Rudy will play  the following works by Leoš Janácek:

  • Piano Sonata 1. X. 1905 (12’)
  • In the Mists (9’)
  • Fragments from On an Overgrown Path (9’)



Participants: Mikhaïl Rudy

Directors: Quay Brothers

This activity is part of Metamorphosis

You might also be interested in

Organised by