Skip to main content

Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan (Aldershot, England, 1948) studied at the University of Sussex, where he graduated in English Literature in 1970. One of the most brilliant writers of his generation, McEwan is the author of the short-story collections First Love, Last Rites (1975, Somerset Maugham Prize) and In Between the Sheets (1978), and the novels The Cement Garden (1978), The Comfort of Strangers (1981), The Child in Time (1987, Whitbread Prize and Prix Femina), The Innocent (1990), Black Dogs (1992), Enduring Love (1997), Amsterdam (1998, Booker Prize), Atonement (2001, several prizes including the WH Smith Literary Prize and the Europe and South Asia Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, and shortlisted for the Booker Prize), Saturday (2005), On Chesil Beach (2007), Solar (2010), Sweet Tooth (2012), The Children Act (2014) and Nutshell (2016).

Update: 2 February 2017


Has participated in

The McEwan Moment

Journalist Antonio Lozano interviews British writer Ian McEwan